From The Island Of Misfit Toys

TV Tai Chi Sucks

Wednesday, Sept. 04, 2002 + 9:55 p.m.


Last night I tried to learn Tai Chi from a super-duper high quality David Carradine video.

Have I ever mentioned that I have mirror-image issues?

So, I�m in some soft jammie pants and a tee shirt, all the furniture moved about the living room giving me plenty of space, three year old hellion poised and ready to help mommy and it begins�..

The first few minutes are O.K. We�re working on some basic poses and energy building and it progresses into some slightly more advanced movements and there it is � within about five minutes, I�m completely lost.

Bear in mind that this is not some crazed Cindy Crawford cardio workout. This. Video. Is. S L O W.

My daughter was not having the same problem. She was doing it perfectly and effortlessly from the comfort of a leather chair. I was struggling with each and every movement. If he was standing still, I was pretty OK, but if he moved in the slightest way, I was a goner.

This is all because he was facing me rather than having his fanny facing the screen. If I were in a live class, I would have the benefit of many asses in my face to follow. If everybody is doing the same thing and is facing the SAME GODDAMNED DIRECTION well, then you have the perfection of a beautiful water ballet.

But NOOOOOO, I couldn�t be that lucky.

I even tried turning around backwards to be facing the same direction as my Kung Fu buddy, but do you have any idea how hard it is to watch TV and follow directions while your back is facing AWAY from the TV?

Watching Tai Chi on TV is fine if you need something to put you to sleep, but if you�re looking to particpate, forget it. Unless you already know all those fancy moves, you might as well screw the whole spiritual/energy thing and just do a couple of friggin� sit-ups.

Jesus, I can�t even exercise right.

Om.


Previous + Next
Older | Newest | Profile | Host | Design |


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

I am the Grim Reaper! Master of all that is
scary!!!

Which Character From 'Billy and Mandy's Grim Adventures' R U?
brought to you by Quizilla