From The Island Of Misfit Toys

Starbucks Lion Piss Latte

Saturday, Sept. 07, 2002 + 10:11 a.m.


My Braun coffeemaker broke the other day. I knew it was coming, I had almost bought a replacement before it broke down completely, but I kept hoping it would last another month so I could put together enough cash to get the ultra deluxe model (you know the one that will not only make deeeeeelicious coffee, but also load the dishwasher).

But��..the coffeemaker broke and I had to stop what I was doing and go get another cheap one right away before I had to get my next fix.

Some of you might say, �Jesus, Lost, there�s a Starbucks on every friggin� corner�.

Well, that may be true, but I refuse to pay $12 for a cup of something I can�t even pronounce, much less something I�m not sure is even coffee in the first place. The last thing I ordered there was VERY STRONG and smelled slightly of cat pee. It was some sort of African coffee. Lion piss is more like it. I paid more for the coffee than I did for dinner at a nice restaurant. I was also awake for three days.

And the names they have for those drinks. They all have some sort of Italian or French sounding name. It�s a mouthful and you have no idea if you�re ordering cream, sugar, vinegar or oysters. Steve Martin taught me to say cheese in French many years ago. Apart from that, I can only count to ten. I can�t say anything in Italian except Senorina and I don�t think that describes any coffees over there.

Now that I think of it, maybe they�re actually selling something over there BESIDES coffee and tea. Maybe they are actually selling widgets. I�d never know the difference. What the Hell is a widget anyway?

I must give them credit for that great logo, though. LOVE. IT. Very cool and hip.

To end this tale, I did buy my coffeemaker for the low, low, extremely low price of $25. It is programmable (unthinkable for the price of like two Starbucks coffees, don�t you think?), but alas it is cheaper than me �if that�s possible. It does make coffee, though. Unfortunately, it took about a week and a half to get the plastic new coffee machine taste out of the coffee. But after that was over I was once again drinking my boring old Hazelnut coffee that actually tasted like coffee.

How wonderful it is to wake up to freshly brewed���What the Hell? I forgot to program the machine. Shit.


Previous + Next
Older | Newest | Profile | Host | Design |


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

I am the Grim Reaper! Master of all that is
scary!!!

Which Character From 'Billy and Mandy's Grim Adventures' R U?
brought to you by Quizilla