From The Island Of Misfit Toys

Ligyrophobia

July 12, 2002 + 9:25 a.m.


Well - I'm feeling girlie today. That explains the flowers.

Fridays always give me a small sense of relief even when I'm still stuck at the THE JOB. Thank God I'll be able to relax with the fam on the patio in a few hours. I may even have a little wine. I might even have a LOT of wine.

Yesterday was the pits - I was stressed all day and not enjoying much of anything. We took the beasties out for dinner at a "beastie-friendly" restaurant so we could relax and talk while they were somewhat occupied.

As it turns out, the server brought the kids balloons to tie to their chairs. Small Child began beating me with her balloon as if it were one of those old clown punching bags. She was highly entertained.

Did I ever mention I have a severe balloon phobia? Well I do. Actually, I just found out there's a name for it. Although it escapes me for the moment.

Needless to say, the experience went downhill from there. I finally had the brilliant idea to take the kids outside and "set the balloons free" - which thankfully worked. The horrible balloons were gone and I was able to enjoy dinner without the aid of a narcotic.

I think the word I'm looking for is ligyrophobia - actually the fear of loud noises. Here are some other interesting phobias: medorthophobia which is fear of an erect penis. I think my grandma had that. Coulrophobia is the fear of clowns. I used to be a clown, you know. That's probably where I developed the balloon problem. Closely related, balloons and clowns. Also interesting (and timely) is hierophobia - the fear of priests or sacred things. Hobophobia is the fear of bums. This is absolutely real!!!!

Speaking of hobophobia.....

There's this little homeless person I check up on everyday. Well, I guess I don't really check up on him/her since I don't go over and try to talk to him/her, but he/she (let's just call it Chris) has a little place under an overpass and surprisingly at the end of a highly-traveled tunnel. He's always all wrapped up in the mornings in a dirty white comforter. I think it's supposed to be white - looks kind of greyish/brownish. Actually it looks more like he's a little mummy all wrapped up like that. He has boxes placed in areas all around his little coocoon to protect them from the elements. I guess as homeless people go, he's got himself a prime location safe from the elements, kind of hard to get to (lots of highways and two tunnels twisting all around his spot).

I'm really hoping to get a good look at him someday, but I think he sleeps pretty late. I go past his spot at about 8 a.m. everyday and he's wrapped up tighter than a swaddled baby. I may never get to see him. Who knows.

I guess I better get back to work before someone flogs me.

Until we meet again......


Previous + Next
Older | Newest | Profile | Host | Design |


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

I am the Grim Reaper! Master of all that is
scary!!!

Which Character From 'Billy and Mandy's Grim Adventures' R U?
brought to you by Quizilla