From The Island Of Misfit Toys

You Want to Play With My What?

Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002 + 9:40 a.m.


CORNHOLE!

There is a game that people play in this town called CORNHOLE. I don�t know why or how it got it�s name, but every time I hear someone say this word, I just don�t know how to react.

This is a REAL game!

My husband who is from Cincinnati and likes to call me a hick because I�m from Louisville, Kentucky, thinks that this game is, �no big deal�. Why am I always the hick? People in Louisville and Lexington never played CORNHOLE. At least not in my neighborhood.

And��if I�m such a hick, why do his relatives have games called CORNHOLE?

It really is some kind of hillbilly game, though. It�s a wooden box with a hole in it, that people throw bean bags in and try to get them to go through the hole. I�m not sure about scoring or anything beyond that.

As you�ve probably guessed by now, it�s really high-tech.

I imagine that it began as some farmer�s game and a way of using up all the old corncobs they had laying around after toilet paper was invented. Doesn�t that make sense?

So they took a board that had some hole in the middle, propped it up on a cinder block and threw the old corncobs in the hole.

Woooooooooooooohoooooooooooooo!

You gochyersef a gayum thar! Les call Milton Bradleeee.

Believe it or not, these games are REALLY popular at picnics, parties and bar-B-ques around Cincinnati. It�s right up there with horseshoes. Don�t even get me started on that game.

We recently went to one of my sisters-in-law�s parties at which she was supposed to have borrowed her sister�s cornhole game.

The conversation went something like this:

Me: Where�s your cornhole? I�ve never really seen one up close.

Her: It�s actually my sister�s. She just got a brand new one for $65 and didn�t want me to damage it.

Me: You can�t use her cornhole?

Her: Can you believe it?

Me: Is SHE using her cornhole?

Her: I don�t know, they�ve already had all their summer parties, so probably not until next year. The nerve!

Me: Wow. You�d think if you just got a brand new cornhole for $65, you�d really be itchin� to use it!

Her: Geez.

So, there you have it. The most fun people have at parties in Ohio is talking about their sister�s cornhole.

God, I�ve got to get OUT OF HERE!!!!!!

What ever happened to lawn Jarts?


Previous + Next
Older | Newest | Profile | Host | Design |


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

I am the Grim Reaper! Master of all that is
scary!!!

Which Character From 'Billy and Mandy's Grim Adventures' R U?
brought to you by Quizilla